Hey Danielle – I made your favorite….CURRY!

We LOVE Curry here in the Blanton house.  Dee thinks we are crazy, but she is a freak that hates lots of foods (AND words) so I am confident to tell you- CURRY ROCKS!

First – prep your veggies – I cut up red pepper, 2-3 carrots (sliced thin), 2 cubed potatoes (cooked in the microwave with about 1/2 cup water for 4 minutes), and 1/2 diced onion (I prefer red).

Then get started in your wok!

-1 T canola oil and add to that – the diced onion, 2 T curry powder or curry paste (I get mine at the International Markets here around Atlanta, I have included a link to some great curry powders from Penzeys Spices….), 2 chopped/diced kaffir lime leaves (or 1 zested lime and the juice of that), 1 T fresh lemongrass or  1 t lemongrass powder and let that cook and add about 1 cup of stock and then about 1 cup of tomato sauce.  I then use a beurre mixer in the wok to mix all that up after it has cooked for about 5-10 minutes.  Then I add 1 can of chickpeas and the sliced carrots and let that cook for about 5 minutes.  Then I add a few squirts of Sriacha, the potatoes, about 1 cup of frozen corn, and the red pepper and cook that for about 3-5 minutes.  Then I take a chicken breast (sliced) and put that in with everything….I usually take 1-2 frozen chicken breasts and boil that and use some of that liquid as needed for the curry.  I cook it about halfway and then slice it SUPER THIN and cook it.

Then, when that is done, add 1 large can of light coconut milk and cook for about 5 minutes.  I then add some chopped cilantro and serve over quinoa or cous cous – but you can also serve over rice or eat alone –

YUM

Leave a comment